Finally Fat


Impulsive I am not, but when my gf sent me a link to a bike shop in Minnesota selling a fat bike for a song, my response was “well that’s nice.” 

“You should get it.”

“I just paid down my credit card!” 

“This is too good a deal.”

I did what any bike person would do, and I asked Twitter.  The response was swift and clear: buy the bike!

So I did. Never mind I already have, between me and my son, 6 bikes in the house. And never mind that I have never ridden a fat bike.  I didn’t even know if I would like it. Who am kidding, of course I would like it!

So it arrived Friday night, mostly assembled and lighter than I expected for a bike so beefy. I attached the front wheel, the handlebars, seat, and pedals. I was in business.


I rode on both Saturday and Sunday, in snow that was about an inch thick and very soft. The bike floats and fishtails gently like a boat in the water. The work is hard in soft snow. I rode through a few crusty sections where the pedaling was easier. I can see how a fat bike could get you skinny.


I didn’t break any speed records, it’s definitely more about getting out in the woods at a time you otherwise wouldn’t be able to.

Pedal selection is subjective. I tried day one on platforms, and switched to clipless day two. Despite the frustration of snow getting packed into the pedals, I prefer clipless. But in deeper conditions I could change my mind. It’s great to have the fat bike as an option to ride outside in conditions that otherwise would be a complete non starter. Definitely more fun than the trainer!

Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Finally Fat”

  1. heavyman927 says :

    I need one of those for when I ride in Michigan snow. Lucky you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

