2016 in Review – Bikes, Love, Loss


About this time every year there are people who start making plans for next year.  Usually about the next big adventure. I might be one of them. This is not that post.

2016 was complex. I had one of the funnest summers since childhood. I also experienced (and continue to experience) difficult loss.

This summer I bikepacked with Laura for the first time. What a magical weekend. It set the tone for the whole summer, promising fun, adventure, and friends. I traveled to Whistler, BC again with my girlfriend, this time bringing my son. Spectacular vacation. I got to share new adventures in a familiar place-one that is remote and beautiful and full of bikes, mountains and wildlife. How very blessed I felt. I finally visited Kingdom Trails in Vermont, camping next to (drumroll please) an actual waterfall in northern Vermont, and riding KT all weekend with Gail and Matt. In between all of this were hikes, hundreds (yes hundreds) of bike rides, mud-runs, and fun.

We also lost my dad this summer. After 6 very difficult years he passed away with my mother by his side and me on the telephone with her. I traveled home to the north shore often during this time as his health continued to decline. We were able to keep him home, with help from an agency, for his final few months. I was happy he could die at home, he hated all the long term care and rehab facilities he had gone to recover enough strength to return home. All he wanted was to go home. His loss is felt like an echo that never really fades away. Now months later, grief hits me at odd moments; it cannot be predicted.

Screen Shot 2016-07-12 at 10.21.39 PM

Mom & Dad.

Then, a sucker punch.  An old friend and colleague died of a swift moving brain cancer the day before her 37th birthday. I cried for a week. One of the most ever-positive people I had know had been stolen away. How completely unfair.

2016 was a teacher. Live now. Adventure now. Enjoy now. It’s all slipping away from us. Buy the bike, take the trip, fall in love, take that shot. Be here with the ones you love. Tell them, show them. I want to get a little place in the mountains of Vermont, with a good view and a woodstove or fireplace and post & beam construction. A place close to skiing and hiking and mountain biking. I’d like to get back into woodworking. I’m trying to figure out how to do that and still pay for my son’s college (and save for my own retirement). I’m not sure how to do this, but I have to figure it out, because if I don’t, I miss out. All the trite advice about how you only go around once feels very, very real. I had a great year. I experienced much sadness and much happiness. Every year should teach us something. We aren’t going to be here forever, we better make today count.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

5 responses to “2016 in Review – Bikes, Love, Loss”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    I’m sorry for your losses, Karen. I knew you were having a great year and having to go though that kind of pain, twice, just doesn’t seem fair – you deserved a good one after all of the sacrifice to get to this year.

    • Karen says :

      thanks Jim. Things are good. Life’s a wave, you know? Sometimes we ride it, sometimes it knocks you down under the surf. Never constant, except in how it changes. I’m good, and looking forward to a new year and what it might bring. 🙂 Hope you are well!

  2. Laura says :

    AMEN sister. What a year. 100% with you on your feelings about Do Things Now. ❤

  3. danaelizabethx says :

    So sorry for your losses- remember all the good times you spent with them and yes- live in the NOW! 🚲

Leave a Reply

