Yoga for broken old ladies who cycle


As an athlete, I have some terrible habits.  Not stretching is one of them.

When it comes to sports, I don’t like staying still. I’m an impatient person and it works against my nature.  I do like quiet time.  I’ve tried yoga before, more played at it, the athletic equivalent of pushing vegetables around on my plate.  I know it’s good for me, but I don’t really like it.

Lately my body has felt like a crumpled up piece of paper; broken and bent and frayed in places.  Age and office sitting and cycling exclusively for exercise with a lack of stretching has contributed to looming sciatica and a chronic calf injury that I fear may be here to stay.

screen-shot-2016-12-04-at-8-07-05-am

Without discussing the severe lack of time and the challenges of being a single parent, I decided, early on a Sunday morning, to start my day with a little yoga.  The backstory is that my son was hosting a sleepover with 2 of his friends.  Three middle school boys under the same roof, and me.  Their giggling woke me at 6AM.  They were sequestered to the rec room in the basement, and I was up anyway, so I decided to give this yoga a shot again.

6:30AM-Start a 22 minute beginner’s yoga with Rodney Lee.

6:39AM-Son’s friend # 1 wonders upstairs to collect a Nerf gun from my son’s room.  I stop, wait for him to go.

6:41 AM-Son’s friend #2 comes upstairs to get a 4 foot foam sword.  Pause yoga routine again.

6:42 – Son’s friend # 1 is hanging out on stairs between first and second floor, because he’s trying to ambush the other boys. But’s it’s my 22 minute attempt at yoga that’s been ambushed.  I hear chortling and shouting downstairs.  It’s hard to believe there are only 3 children down there and not 20.  The serenity and calmness of the warrior pose I’m trying to do in my pajamas is under attack by my real life.

6:44 – All boys are downstairs and I’m fighting my feelings of annoyance and trying the hold the next pose.  I am feeling the stretching and realize how inflexible my body has become.  I really need this, probably on a semi-regular basic.

6:45 – Just when the boys are at bay, I have a hot flash. Awesome.  This usually only happens at night, but it’s still technically sleeping time I suppose. I continue through yet another disruption, this one courtesy of age and biology.

The next 7 minutes continued, incredibly, without interruption.

So that’s a great example of why I can’t exercise how I want, when I want.

Yoga isn’t a bad idea at all and I do need to do it more often, if only for a morning stretch. Next time I’ll try to do it when I’m the only one home….

-Karen

 

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

