26th Annual Verge Northampton International Cyclocross-Cyclesmart


Local race!  My 5th year racing Northampton and each year the course gets a little bit better. Technical features have been introduced and they seem to tweak the gnar factor year after year. I raced both days, placing exactly where the race predictor put me. The torture I endured last weekend in Vermont brought me back in line to where I should be; feeling like I was actually racing.

2016-11-13-15-23-10

HUP United represented here in the Women’s Elite Race on Day 1.

Day 1

Saturday started cold. 27F degrees when I arrived at 7AM. I ate something that had been disagreeing with me the day before, and had a terrible night’s rest. Despite this, I got a fair start and had a clean race, very few mistakes and steady effort. I passed a few when I could but found myself with a comfortable gap in front and behind me, which left me wanting in terms of “racing.” There was no “race inside the race” for me Saturday. I finished 43rd and felt relatively satisfied with the effort.

After Saturday’s race, I ran home, grabbed a shower, and then retuned to meet up with Laura who drove up from New York to see her first ‘cross race. We chatted all after noon while catching the pro women and pre men’s race, and then headed to Local Burger in Northampton for dinner.

2016-11-13-16-30-53

US Cyclocross National Champion Jeremy Powers in pursued by Curtis White of Cannondale on the run up on day 1.  White would later catch Powers and win in a very dominate fashion.

2016-11-13-15-28-58

Crystal Anthony (3) is on U23 National Champion Ellen Noble’s wheel in the turn after the sandpits at Northampton on day 1.

2016-11-13-15-19-22

Pro women on the run up day 1.

2016-11-13-16-31-03

Superman remounts.

Day 2

Sunday was much warmer. I was stiff and tired from Saturday’s efforts, and didn’t sleep well again. I wasn’t feeling very racey right up until the whistle. But after we went, I raced more aggressively than Saturday, attacking often (and having some of my attacks answered). I traded places frequently with one young woman who eventually bested me.  My fatigue was evident when I tripped on the barriers (first time that has happened).  I had another delay when I got caught up in the sandpit and was forced to run the entire 2 lengths of the pit, which was so much more draining then pedaling through it. I finished 30th and felt very good with my effort.

fullsizerender-1

Hey that’s me, over the covered railroad tracks after the super sketchy descent on day 2.

Sunday I wasn’t planning on hanging out long. I left by 10AM before results had been posted, showered, and was sipping a mocha latte at Shelburne Falls Coffee Roasters in Easthampton by 11:30AM. I decided to check my results online.  That’s when I noticed my place was all wrong. They counted my first 2 laps as one and placed me second to last. I ended up driving back to Look Park to speak to a US Cycling Official to formally protest and explained what I believed happened. They fixed it immediately.  ery positive experience for my first “protest.”

The rest of Sunday I felt tired and happy. My weekend was full of friends, bikes, racing, and spectating-much needed break from social media, traditional media, and the current state of affairs in our country.

-Karen

More Photos!

2016-11-13-15-30-35-1

Pro women in the sand, day 1.

2016-11-13-16-49-52

Pro men on run up #2 on day 1.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

