KMC CX Fest-Thompson Speedway

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-11-14-28-pm

I read somewhere they wanted this to be like Zolder.  I’ve never been to Zolder, but have watched enough SVENNESS videos to say that I think they are squarely in the neighborhood with the new KMC CX Course at the Thompson Speedway.

It hasn’t rained significantly in New England for several months.  But the heavens opened all day Friday and most of the day Saturday, and again Sunday night. The result was a true cyclocross experience.  Thick, sloppy mud, standing water, disintegrating sand on the run ups, and very sketchy descents.  It was awesome.

Day 1

It was still dark when I left the house and the rain was light and steady.  I arrived early, wanting to pre-ride and unable to make the course preview Friday afternoon.  First impressions were “HOLY SHIT.”  The run ups were crazy but the off camber demanded some serious skills.  The “pro-only” sections were just that, and if you browse the Instagram under the hashtag #KMCCX you will see the best pro men in America going ass over teakettle down the pro-only descent.  Even though I didn’t have to deal with that, the other areas were tough enough.

I had a solid race.  It was hard.  The mud was exhausting.  But I loved it.  I haven’t had a total mud bath of a cyclocross race in the 4 years I’ve been racing so it was great to finally get that.

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-11-07-07-pm

Day 2

Forecasts said no rain, but when I left in the morning it was still raining, so I knew the course would still be a lovely mess for my early race. The course had a few changes; direction was reversed in sections and a new run up and off camber was introduced. The mud was getting tacky and stiff in some sections, but still sloppy and thick in others. I got just as filthy on day 2, but rode faster, and had a strong finish. I beat a few women that I don’t typically, and came off feeling pretty psyched.

Most people are disappointed in rainy weekends. In this case, the rain made mine.  -Karen

Screen Shot 2016-10-02 at 11.08.50 PM.png

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-11-09-23-pm

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-11-09-41-pm

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

