Whistler, BC Trip


I made it back to Whistler, and it was totally awesome!  I took my son this time. We hiked more than biked, but I still got out to some local mountain bike trails near Lost Lake.  We did a lot of hiking, walking, exploring, some XC mountain biking, some photography while hunting bears (for photo reasons not to harm them).  Some of our adventure plans were thwarted due to my son’s weight.  Most parents are warned about childhood obesity.  Not me.  My kid is a bean pole.  I swear I can cook and feed him often!  He’s 11 years old, 5 feet tall, and 69 lbs. soaking wet.  For this reason, our plans to white water raft and bobsled will have to wait.  He was awed by all the epic scenery and we had a terrific time nonetheless.

 

P1060367

The bike park was jamming since it was the week before Crankworx.  Unfortunately, I did not DH this trip….I’ll live but I was disappointed that I did not get to do this.  Truthfully, I hiked so much I was pretty sore.  I soaked in the dh bike culture nonetheless.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 10.49.09 PM

Everyone’s having a good time.  I lived through these smiles.  Too bad the one of the end can’t look up from  the phone!

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 10.56.27 PM

This stuff is everywhere.  They call this one Pinocchio’s Furniture. I got out to MTB twice during this trip.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 10.56.55 PM

My son, the Bird Whisperer.

I left wanting more, just like 2 years ago.  There is just so much to do at Whistler.  The beauty of this place in inescapable.  It will be a while before I return–I have new places to see and explore.  I love the mountains though–and this place really delivers adventure.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Whistler, BC Trip”

  1. techknowgn says :

    I’ve been wanting to go since my best friend went for a ski vacation for a few years ago. I need to put it on the list

Leave a Reply

