Bikepacking Prep Underway


Plans are well underway for Laura & my maiden bikepacking voyage.  We’ve already met on location and scouted the campsite, drove the route, hiked other routes on foot, and checked out some possible parking options for the weekend. We’re planning on meeting up in the Berkshires, which boosts beautiful views down nearly every road.

We have routes with options locked down, right now the primary focus seems to be on gear.  I’ve never backpacked before, let alone bikepacked, so I’m getting a sense of what is needed to take care of the basics when away from civilization.  There are a lot of great resources out there, and I’m reading everything I can get my hands on.  I’ve learned a lot by just trying to strap items to my bike.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 11.09.14 PM

Laura and I both own hammocks but we’ve never used them.  We are trying to determine if this will work for our trip.  I need to attempt a backyard set up and figure out if I love it or hate it: everything I read seem to indicate there are people in both camps (no pun intended).

After we determine the sleeping arrangements (hammocks or perhaps a small tent), then I think the next puzzle will be what to bring for food.  Given the amount of elevation we’ll be logging with fully loaded bikes, and the potential fun rides and hikes from the campsite, I’m thinking we’ll be looking for every calorie we can get our hands on.

Once we get these details ironed out, we’ll pray for fair weather and then set off for the weekend.  We still plan on meeting again at least once to review details and ride the routes.  Given that this is our first time and we’ll both be a good drive from home, I don’t mind the extra planning.  I like a good adventure but I also like to be prepared.  Maybe after a few bikepacking trips under my belt, I’ll explore a trip with less of a plan.  But for now, this is a good enough start for me.

-Karen

PS:  We’ve decided the official hashtag to our little trip is #BearBurritos.  Hammocks + hungry bears + sleeping cyclists = #BearBurritos.

 

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

