Racing for Last


This Saturday I’m racing after a 4 week break. My training has been nil but when I have found the time to ride I have felt pretty good. Despite a Cat 4 / Citizen race being available, I signed up for the Open category (1/2/3/4). According to Crossresults I’m predicted to place last among the current competition, which includes Elite women. Am I bothered? No.

So why did I chose the slaughter? Lot of reasons. Let’s review:

1.)  I’m not going to win at this sport. Ever. There is only one winner. If I entered the Cat 4 race, I wouldn’t win that one either. I’m ok with where I end up among the faster women.

2.) Night Weasels taught me, chasing pros makes me perform better. OK–it’s usually when they’ve just lapped me, but it does provoke a response from me, and that makes my entire race faster. I also like watching the lines they take. Teachable moments.

3.) I’d rather race for 45 minutes instead of 30, especially when I’m driving 2 hours to get there. I mean, these 30 minute races leave me a bit wanting. It’s not enough. If I have an opportunity to go for longer, I will.

4.) Points. Even in last, my points for this race will be low, which will help me getting placed for a better starting position at a future race.

5.) I’m not a beginner. Hey I know I’m not fast, and not fast enough to have upgraded to Cat 3 without me writing to USA Cycling and requesting it, but I know what I’m doing. I am comfortable dismounting and remounting and shouldering and will yield to a faster rider. I know I won’t get in anyone’s way and would never forgive myself if I did.

So–a little humility is necessary. I have never placed last in a cyclocross race, but this weekend, It’s extremely probable that I will. But it’s important to remember, even when you accept that you’re not as fast as the rest, that anything can happen in a cross race.  Anything. It’s a sport rife with unpredictables. So never count your chickens, because a hell of a lot of things can hatch in 45 minutes on a cyclocross course.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

