Crash & Burn: Forest Park CX


Do you know what tegaderm is? I didn’t until today. It’s this cool high tech bandage. I’m wearing a LOT of tegaderm right now.

Forest Park is a very technical, very mountain bikey course. I liked the course for this reason. But today was not a great day for me.

What went wrong?

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 9.43.10 PMI crashed 5 minutes into the race. A total wash out, I almost took out two other racers near me (thank god they reacted well and they did not go down). While I jumped up immediately and don’t feel I lost a lot of time despite the crash, the pain was a distraction for the remainder of the race.

The heat was not brutal, but it was hot. I don’t do well in the heat. It got to me.

I had a full blown allergy situation which caused me to fill with disgusting fluid and I spent 2 laps coughing up my lungs. Gross. This was probably my biggest problem.

Ok, what went right? 

I had a spectacular start. I started in the second row. Despite this, I ended up in the top ten through the hole shot. It could not have gone better.

I executed some technical sections really beautifully. One was a particularly difficult section that featured exposed root, soft dirt and some serious off camber action. I was smooth, fluid. Thank god.

I recovered from the crash quickly. No one got past me as a result from the event.

But, the heat and the coughing got the best of me and I gave up several places later in the race. I was racing the first lap, hacking and trying to breath the second, and the heat claimed me in the 3rd. The hills did not help either. I thought I was in better shape to handle those but they really had their way with me. My average heart rate for the race was 181 and my max 189.  I wasn’t taking it easy. I was just tapped out.

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 9.38.13 PM

I don’t think I can really feel bad about this. I don’t think I could have tried any harder.

But I still had a good time. It was great to see familiar faces and meet new folks. Heather raced today too which is a bonus.

So right now I’m pretty banged up. I have some deep gashes on my leg and elbow from the crash, and getting them cleaned out was far more painful than the crash itself. Additionally, I have the Boston Spartan Sprint tomorrow and will need to be creative in keeping these wounds clean and dry.

But at last, cross is here!

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Crash & Burn: Forest Park CX”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Heal fast Karen.

Leave a Reply

