Making Plans 2015


I make a lot of plans when it comes to cycling. I’m really good at that. This year, I need to improve on execution.

It’s not that I don’t ride a lot, but in the world of cyclists, I don’t ride as much as some. That’s not my fault entirely–I do the best I can with my schedule. But when I do ride, I need to get more out of it.

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 10.20.59 PM

Head down, time to work.

I also need to get more disciplined in the kitchen. This is tougher for me, but getting easier the more I make the effort.

Since time is my biggest enemy, causing me to 1.) not spend the kind of time I’d like to on the bike and 2.) not have the time to shop for and prepare decent healthy meals. I also not the most inspired chef. But mostly, it’s the time that’s working against me.

To combat this–I’ve killed some time sucks.  OK, maybe that’s harsh.  First-I’ve closed my online business.  I loved doing it, but it demanded a lot of time and energy.  I already work full time and parent full time, a side business demanding what little time was left.  Second, I’ve been getting more organized–throwing out stuff, donating clothing and books and other stuff to worthwhile charities.  This feels good in lots of ways.  Less stuff to manage, and someone who needs my gently worn stuff gets it free or for very cheap.  Good mojo.

Keep things simple, then I can focus on the things I want.  This is my strategy for 2015.

Priorities remain, in this order

1.) Fun

2.) Strength & Fitness

3.) Get Fast(er)(ish)

5.) Make new friends, see old friends.

6.) Race a bunch!

5.) Explore new roads, trails, places, worlds.

I can’t wait to get started.  Now if I can just get this snow to melt…

See you on the road,

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Making Plans 2015”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Sorry to hear about the demise of the coffee business. They do take some serious time though.

Leave a Reply

