Happy New Year! Welcome to Your Mid-Life Crisis :)

Hey 2015, it is NOT time to hang it up.

OK, maybe I’ve been in crisis for a little while now.  New Years resolutions notwithstanding, I’ve been setting all kinds of goals for myself the last few years, mostly because I realize that if not now, when?  Guys, I’m 44 and not getting any younger.  That doesn’t mean I can’t be fit and halfway decent on a bike, but it takes a little more work, a little more time, and demands a little more recovery.

During Christmas I was at a party and got chatting with a beautifully exotic couple–urban-bohemian artists who raise chickens and sculpt art for Sir Paul McCartney. She runs. He plays hockey. We talked about these sports we live for. He said, “So typical. We turn 40 and realize we are going to die.” Yup. I’m a middle aged statistic grasping for the remains of my youth.  And so what? So will you too, if you’re under 35 and shrugging your shoulders reading this. No one escapes.

Anyway–off the soapbox and onto what I’m doing in 2015.  I broad terms, I plan on:

  1. Entering at least one mud race, probably Boston Spartan Sprint in Barre, MA this August.
  2. Entering at least 1 (or 2) Mountain Bike Race(s)
  3. Entering 10 Cyclocross Races

I remember when a 5K foot race in a year was a big deal. I remember when I’d train and look forward to the LIVESTRONG Challenge for most of the year. One event. Now I’m racing a dozen or more times a year. And that’s not to diminish those out there who train for and look forward to that one race you do. That race–it’s a big deal. It was hard. You were nervous about it. You were maybe a little worried, maybe a little excited, maybe a little scared. And afterwards you felt freaking amazing. You did it. All you. And even if you never do another, you did this one and no one can take that away.

I got hooked on that power–that empowerment of completing something physically hard and pushing myself to be better than my last best performance. The only way I can think of to keep that in my life as the sands run down is to keep on doing it.

I don’t know why I feel this nagging pressure–a persistent feeling like it all may end at any moment, but I do. I feel that a lot. I’m not sick. I’m not unhappy. But all of this is so much fun and it’s not something old people do. If I’m going to age, God help me I do not want to get old doing it.

It’s 2015 people. Don’t let it slip away. Get on your bikes and ride! You never get another chance after the day is gone.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Happy New Year! Welcome to Your Mid-Life Crisis :)”

  1. MG says :

    Ha! So true! I like the process of setting goals when it comes to fitness, whether yearly or otherwise timed, and find that they serve as an end point to a road map of training and fitness that I come up with for myself. I do this for other parts of my life, too, although the end goal isn’t always as specific. Also, did you see the recent article in The Atlantic about the mid-life crisis: http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2014/12/the-real-roots-of-midlife-crisis/382235/ Worth a read.

Leave a Reply

