So long 2014


This was not the year I had wanted on the bike. But it was a good year, a key, pivotal year for me.

I started with ambitious goals, like I do every year. A full summary can be found here.  But to sum up, here is a short excerpt:

My biggest goal for my 2014 Cyclocross Season is a top 50% finish. I know I’m capable of this and I need to set my sights on being fast and strong.

I’m really happy to say, that by the skin of my teeth and thanks to the algorithms at crossresults.com, I finally had a top 50% race finish! Day 1 of CycleSmart International Cyclocross on home-turf (Northampton) was the magic day. I went hard, crashed once, and had a good amount of fun during this race.

But–things pretty much peaked there. I came close to breaking that top 50% barrier at Gloucester, and on Day 2 in Northampton, but in the Open categories and 3/4s, I fell very short.  Here are my complete results:Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 10.33.02 PM

Aug 23 CompEdge Cross @ Forest Park WOMEN OPEN  6th
Sep 6 Big Elm Brewery Cyclocross Women Cat 1/2/3/4 Open 9th
Sep 20 Uncle Sam Cyclocross Grand Prix Day 1 Women Cat 4 6th
Sep 27 Rapha Super Cross Gloucester Day 1 Women Cat 4 44th
Oct 4 KMC Cross Fest Day 2 Women 3/4 86th
Oct 19 Keene Pumpkin Cross Race W3/4 10th
Nov 1 Cycle-Smart International – Day 1 Women 4 26th
Nov 2 Cycle-Smart International – Day 2 Women 4 30th
Nov 15 Cheshire Cross ’14 WOMEN’S CATEGORY 3 /4 14th

These races had as many as 114 racers (KMC/Providence) or a few as 8. All were hard. I raced–really raced, only 5 of them. I bombed at Cheshire, almost willingly DNFed Big Elm, and struggled at CompEdge & Uncle Sam. Keene hurt the worst, only because I really fought to hold my position. But hands down my favorite race was KMC/Providence, which was huge at 114 racers. It had a double flyover, slippery corners and a world-class course. I just love that race.

I also raced in Gill, MA at Bubba’s Xmas CX, which was an unofficial race. Ironically, the crash I had in the snow & mud there left me with a probable broken rib. I haven’t been to the doctor and don’t plan to go, but it’s been 2 1/2 weeks and everything else is healed up except the ribs. I hope it feels better before Scrub Zone Nationals on January 11th.

I often compare myself to fellow racers in New England, and the women’s scene has really skyrocketed here over the past couple of years. And with a racing age of 45, the competition keeps getting younger and faster. But thankfully I have USA Cycling to stroke my delicate ego:

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 10.16.57 PM

Top 50% in Mass! Higher everywhere else but with such a strong concentration of cyclocross talent in Mass and New England I’m extra proud of my state rank for cat 4.  Especially since I’m old enough to be Mom to many of my competitors.

This year I transitioned into a new position with a great company–and my focus on cycling took a backseat to this mid fall. I’m still settling in and very happy with the move, and once I hit my stride at work I will be able to refocus on my cycling goals and racing both cyclocross and a couple of mountain bike races too. Onward to 2015!

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

