Providence KMC Cyclocross Festival 2014 Race Report


I’ve fallen behind on my blogging this season, for a ton of great reasons.  Never mind those, here’s the report:

Providence KMC Cyclocross Festival

I can say with a lot of confidence, after experiencing this race for the third time, that this is my all time favorite cyclocross race. The buzz around the course was that there is a push for this venue to be a future World Cup location.  I have never met anyone who doesn’t LOVE Providence in terms of a cyclocross race.  It’s really a remarkable venue, remarkable course, and amazing ride, every. Single. Time.  This time they had a total of 3 flyovers, one of them a double flyover, which was -OMG- totally awesome.  And a jump!  How awesome is that?

114 women lined up and I was one of them.  I finished 86th and had a great time.  I’m never going to do “well” at this race, but I’m always going to love it.  I was happy with my performance.  Good race, went hard, saw friends, had fun.  Mission accomplished.  Here are some pictures:

Me and my 13 year old nemesis, Maddy.  She beat me this time!  Watch for her to keep moving up the ranks.

Me and my 13 year old nemesis, Maddy. She beat me this time! Watch for her to keep moving up the ranks.

Providence 2014.4.JPG

Around the hairpin media tower.

Steady pedal section--wasn't much of this but when it came, you took it.

Steady pedal section–wasn’t much of this but when it came, you took it.

World Cup?  Yes, please.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

