Keene Pumpkin Cross Race Report 2014

Me and mysterious co-blogger!  She exists!

Keene Pumpkin Cross

This was the first year of this race, held on the same weekend as the annual Keene PumpkinFest which is famous regionally, but this year, made national news when students from Keene State went crazy and started flipping cars and rioting. 84 were arrested. Made my years at UMASS look innocent. Fortunately, the race venue was far away from the carnage of PumpkinFest. It was a small race, a little over 100 racers in total. Heather joined me for this one, with 15 total in our combined category (3/4). I wanted 8th at least. I got 10th. I raced–mailed nothing in. While I wanted 8th, I know my competition was fitter and earned the better positions. I am happy I held off one racer, who was seriously reeling me in during the 3rd and 4th laps. At a critical point, I managed to hold her off (even when I dropped my chain after a remount), and stayed away for 10th. I like the racing, and I had some good racing here.

IMG_0248

The course was also somewhat muddy–not terrible, but greasy and boggy in spots. There was a lot of sand, a lot of flat, powerful sections (which do not favor me), and a very cold wind. I wore leggings for this race. There was a good run up, a log jump, sand, and a couple of barriers.  It sounds like a lot of technical elements, but it really wasn’t. Anyone good at crits or road racing would have the advantage here, and that sure wasn’t me.

IMG_0247

I had fun, and that’s the point. Set on a lake with the autumn New Hampshire foliage as a backdrop, you couldn’t ask for much better. They had hot chocolate and hot dogs and other goodies, but I did not partake. It was a nice little venue–great for friends and family alike. I’ll do this again next year if they have it.

-Karen

More photos from Geoff Martin, who is a great photographer. See his other work here.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 8.50.46 PM

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 8.55.14 PM

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

