CompEdge CX @ Forest Park Race Report


First a little lead up.

It was raining Friday night, but I planned to ride anyway, as is typically recommended before race day. Just enough to sharpen the legs. I planned to circle Whiting Reservoir in Holyoke a few times to prime the pump. A good place to ride–nice wide gravel roads nestled around the reservoir at the base of a woodsy Mt. Tom. It was pouring when I arrived, but pushed on. It was downpouring and I had the place to myself. The rain was warm and I enjoyed getting muddy.

While out there, I discovered my cleat would not clip into my right pedal. I adjusted, several times, to no avail. Ah, I’d figure it out in the morning. My race wasn’t until 2:15PM and was super close, just 15 minutes away in Springfield. No big deal. I went home, hosed off my muddy, soaked shoes and clothing, and took a hot shower.

The next morning I realized my shoes were not going to dry on their own for several days. They weighed 5 times heavier than normal and riding in wet shoes when it’s not raining screamed amateur (because lets face it, it is).  So I have wet shoes, and a cleat that won’t fully connect with my SPD pedal.  

Screen Shot 2014-08-27 at 10.36.30 PM

I addressed the shoes by throwing them in the oven a few minutes at a time. Don’t come over for dinner. It’s really not a problem, I barely use it as it is….at least this way my oven was seeing some action. I’d pull them out, let the steam roll off, then throw them back in, It worked pretty well. Between baking my shoes, I worked on the pedal. Nothing seemed to work. I tried to remove the SPD from my mountain bike to switch out the pedal for the day as a quick fix, but I could not muscle the bad pedal from my Kona. I wrestled with this for a couple of hours at least. I had absolutely no clipping in happening on my right foot, which in a race, wasn’t just a performance killer but felt like it could be actually dangerous. Finally, it occurred to me that the cleat could be worn (duh Karen). I knew I had a spare set of cleats, but of course I had no idea where. The copious amount of time I had was all but gone, and I was literally racing around trying to fix this pedal and getting the rest of my stuff together (food, kit, money for the park entry, racing license). I finally located the spare cleats and after some struggling to remove the old cleat, i installed the new one and tested it–Success! I was back in business.  

I tried replacing the other one but ran out of time and just hustled down to Forest Park.  By this time, I was very harried and stressed out, I had my regular nerves from racing, plus it being my first one of the year, plus me not riding too much lately, and in my frantic attempts to repair my pedal, it seemed as if all the calories I had carefully consumed were burnt up with anxiety and effort with my pedal wrench. I was pouring sweat the whole car ride to the park from the morning. Plus I was alone, with no buddy or girlfriend to settle me down. Not exactly the best way to start.

The Actual Race

Registration was a breeze and now it was the typical hurry up and wait game. I got most of a lap of course inspection done, and the course was more technical than I expected, which was a good thing. More hills than most courses but they weren’t too bad, and there was one really good run up toward the end of the lap.

Forest Park run up.

Forest Park run up.

 

This was an open category, which meant I was racing against elite women. Of course as a cat 4, pretty much everyone is better, and I didn’t fight it. I took my rightful place in the back at the start line. There were only 9 of us, so I was just in the second row, but I was sure to place myself behind one of the faster women that I recognized from previous races. I knew this way I could get a good start without screwing up any of the better ranked women.

My start was decent. I fell in 3rd from last and then passed a women on the first lap. I was passed shortly after by a different racer behind me. Basically, there were no other changes for the reminder of the race, with the exception of one of the lead women flatting which resulted in a 6th place finish for me instead of a 7th place finish.  It’s true, anything can happen in a CX race.

The elevation changes were ok-even fun for the first lap, but after the 3rd lap the hills were really working me over. I tried to just ride smooth. “Smooth is fast, smooth is fast.” was my mantra.  I had moments when I felt like puking and numbness in my chest, so I was definitely giving effort, yet I felt my lack of fitness in this. On the last lap the lead racer lapped me very close to the finish line, and I was mercifully pulled from the race. Secure in a 6th place and totally OK with not doing a 5th lap, I collapsed and assessed. There were dicey spots I rode really well-very efficiently and fast. Other spots I made sloppy, stupid mistakes that cost me time.  

After it was all over, I felt happy. My ordeal with the pedal and the shoes in the oven had my questioning if I’d even go to this race. I’m glad I didn’t throw in the towel and figured things out. The 6th place meant the lowest points I’ve ever scored on crossresults, which will benefit me in call ups for bigger races throughout the rest of the year. This was not my best work, but all along I approached this as a tune up race, and with that in mind, I feel it was a good first effort.

Time now to work out the rest of the bugs, with race prep, equipment, and fitness…..cyclocross season is officially underway!

-Karen

PS:  Out of all Cat 4 women in this race I placed second, so–not too bad.

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “CompEdge CX @ Forest Park Race Report”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Congratulations Karen, nice job.

Leave a Reply

