CX In August


Welp, here I am, 6 days from my first race. I haven’t registered yet. I only cycled 40 miles this week, 70 last week, 12 the week before. My rides are averaging about half in mileage terms compared to last summer. It’s a bit depressing. I’m starting the cyclocross season in tentative shape. This first race will be a primer for the season–a good way to jump start my training. It’s a smaller event, taking place in Forest Park in Springfield, MA and a replacement venue to the course in Monson, MA which received complaints for being too technical (I loved it). I emailed the race organizer to see if I could pre-ride it Friday evening, but no dice–they can’t set up until that morning. He explained there will be a lot of elevation changes and it was pretty hard packed. It’s difficulty will be in the elevation changes but nothing else too technical.

P1050083

Maybe the elevation will include some run ups….

I’m viewing this as a way to HTFU and get ready for the rest of the season. Nothing wrong with peaking in late October or November rather than petering out after Providence. But this year already feels different to me. I think I’m more comfortable at these events now, and I have my goals, but I’m more relaxed about reaching them. Or not.

Right now my season is looking like this:

CompEdge CX @ Forest Park, Springfield, MA          August 23
Big Elm CX @ Great Barrington, MA                          September 6
TBD                                                                            September 20-21
Rapha Supercross @ Gloucester, MA                        September 27
Providence Cyclocross Festival @ Providence, RI     October 4
Keene PumpkinCross @ Surry, NH                             October 19
CycleSmart International @ Northampton, MA            November 1-2
TBD                                                                             November 15-16
TBD                                                                             November 29-30

I’d still like to do 10 races. I may only do 8. I’d like to do both days in Gloucester and Providence, but I can’t won’t because I’m too busy with the rest of my life and don’t want to pay for a hotel. I really would like to break into the 50% range on a finish. I think I may have an actual shot at this since race organizers for the larger races (Like Gloucester, so far) are breaking the Cat 3s from the Cat 4s which means I will just be competing against my own category. For the smaller races like this weekend, it’s an Open category which means I’ll be racing against everyone who is better than me. In the end, I race against myself, which is how it should be for someone like me.

So here we go kids, CX season is back. If you haven’t tried it yet, here’s your chance. Check out races in your local area by going to BikeReg.com.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

