Reg’d! Co-blogger signed my ass up for Gloucester

046

Misery loves company is the saying, which is probably part of the reason I keep hounding my friends to try cyclocross. Co-blogger Heather has caught the bug and today while I was sneaking texts to her while at work, she signed us both up at BikeReg.com for Gloucester.

Ahem, sorry. Now referred to as the Rapha Super Cross Gloucester, Presented by Great Brewers. Within an hour of opening registration, categories were selling out. I probably could have hung on until I got home from work to reg, but I get nervous, and excited, and Heather got nervous and excited, and she got home from work before I did, and did me the favor of registering me when she signed herself up. Our category is already 1/2 full just hours into registration.

Gloucester is such a big deal in the realm of cyclocross, and such a big deal here in New England. For me personally, it’s very close to where I grew up and is like “going home.”  Additionally, I came to fall in love with cyclocross in Gloucester, mostly because I went almost every year for the last 14 to watch and cheer on my little cousin Tim, who is a pretty good cx racer.* I’ve come to love the sport for my own reasons over the years and I feel so happy and fortunate to participate in first class events like Gloucester, even as a middle aged cat 4 novice. The sport is still intensely difficult, no matter how good (or bad) you are at it.

They’ve made some changes this year and gave Cat 3 women and Cat 4 women separate races. Hopefully that will translate into not finishing on the bottom 25% for me, and I’m just not Cat 3 fast-yet. (bad end of the gene pool for me in terms of cycling talent). I’m disappointed that my race is only 30 minutes instead of 40 or 45, but it’s difficult for race organizers to serve the sport and the racers and this is just part of the territory of not being super fast. Suck it Cat 4s, if you want to race for longer, get faster. That’s fair, and I’m not kidding. Incentive for getting better.  

119

Aside from the competitive side of racing–the scene at Gloucester is just–unexplainably awesome. The salt air, the unpredictable weather, the fans, the venue–it’s intimate and enormous at once. The fans are hearty New Englandahs, heckling “hey kid pick up ya bike and run!” and sneaking beah and dollah bill handups to slower racers. My people! The crowds are wicked awesome. And the weather! I’ve been then in the pouring rain, the bitter cold, the dry and dusty heat. Anything can happen in terms of weather in New England, which is perfect for the sport of cyclocross.

I’m psyched Heather has chosen to do this race too–on the same course as top racers in the world. There’s nothing like it and I know she’ll have a great experience.

So it’s official, we’re signed up for Saturday September 27th at 9:30AM. My Mom and my son will be there, as well as other family, and I’ll be sticking around for the day to watch the other racers including the pro women and pro men.  

Woot!  Gloucester!

-Karen

* first time I’ve ever revealed my familial connection to the sport on this blog.  Hey, it’s been 8 years of blogging. I figured it was time to come clean 🙂 
About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

4 responses to “Reg’d! Co-blogger signed my ass up for Gloucester”

  1. Tim Cary (@tdcary) says :

    Say what??!! TJ is your cousin? Cool! (wonder how many of your readers will notice this in your post- good test to see how many readers you actually have!) In any case, nice to see this post, because I caved today too and registered for Sunday. This is just one of those things that must be experienced no matter what. Looking forward to it.

    • Karen says :

      LOL, yes, much younger cousin. No one reads blogs anymore, right? I figured it was safe to mention 🙂 LOL I’ll be there Saturday but probably not Sunday–too bad! You’ll love it, it’s such a great time!

  2. Jonathan O'Keeffe says :

    Cool, both the Gloucester reg and the TJ connection. I’m sure some of the genes rubbed off, given your enduring love of the sport.

Leave a Reply

