Goals Check #1 Cycling in Hoth


Image

Winter 2013-2014

Here we are mid-February and in the Northeast we have oh–about 3 feet of snow on the ground.  Cycling outside has been curbed significantly.  The trainer has been avoided, mostly because it’s the trainer.  And even running has been difficult due to icy streets, sub zero temperatures, and my complete lack of a babysitter. I’m not making the goals I outlined for myself.  At best, I’m working out 3x a week, not 5.  That might seem like plenty, but in my mind, it feels like next to nothing.

Let’s review, these were my goals:

Chunk #1- Januaryish to Marchish
Ride 3x a week
Run 2x a week
Events planned: None.

I’ve always been an opportunist about working out.  I really have no choice.  I take what I can get.  Not accounted for on Strava are the women’s pickup basketball I’m playing Saturday mornings now (this is my 3rd year).  That at least keeps my cardio up.  This week I had a short stay in Florida, where there is no snow.  I did a lot of walking and swimming and even hit the treadmill for a 3 mile jog.  

The good news is that it was in the 40’s today, and may reach 50 by the weekend.  There is a huge melt underway.  Colder temps are supposed to return next week, but this weekend, I’m riding outside, both days.  I cannot wait.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

