Shiver Me Timbers: #Strava Ride Today


Today’s ride was c-c-c-c-cold. The 26 degrees wasn’t so bad, it was the blasting headwind, gusting strong at 30+ MPH that was tough to take. I stayed closed to home and took it slow at times, steady most of the ride.  I really didn’t enjoy this ride, and mid way through I found myself just wanting it to be over.

This winter is the toughest I’ve had on the bike in some time.  The temps have been extremely cold, and whenever I do have an opening in my schedule to ride, it’s often snowing.  I’ve been dabbling with the trainer just to get some energy out and to keep my legs in some kind of shape, but I’m really seeing why the pros just move to California during the winter months to build their base miles.

Anyway, I climbed the Notch, which isn’t the hardest hillclimb but it’s not something I usually do in January.  Hills are my friends, hills are my friends, hills are my friends.  I’ll be grateful come summer when I’m faster for it.

-Karen

Tags: , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

