Women Who Inspire Me Series


There’s a bit of a groundswell going on in women’s cycling, heck even in women’s athletics, that has me excited.  Obviously I’ve always been “for” women in sport, ever since I was a little girl.  Growing up in the 70’s and 80’s, there were few role models for young girls interested in athletics.  The phrase “pretty good for a girl” was used a lot, and considered a compliment.  We’ve come a long way, baby.  And we aren’t through yet.

No longer a girl, and well out of my youth, I still am driven to improve my performance.  I vacillate between feeling that this is a silly impulse, and then feeling privately proud that this is part of my personality. I think the feeling silly part comes from not conforming to what I’m expected to be, or do.  I don’t really fit into the typical picture.

You can do it!

You can do it!

That’s why I started to think about other women who didn’t really fit–who break the mold, shatter the cultural norm, who reach not only past their physical limits, but past social norms as well.

That’s why I decided to write a series of posts on women who inspire me.  Some of these women will be cyclists, but not all, probably not most. My sport is cycling but I draw inspiration from a number of sources.

I don’t have a set schedule in mind, I’ll just call this the “Women who inspire me” series and title it as such.  Off the top of my head, I’m think about posts on Babe Didrikson, Diana Nyad, Pat Summit, Marianne Vos, Martina Navratilova, the “Iron Nun” Sister Madonna Buder, and of course, USA Cycling National Cyclocross Champion, Female Masters 70-74, Julie Lockhart.  If others come up I’ll certainly add to the list, but I feel like this is a good start.

-Karen

 

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Women Who Inspire Me Series”

  1. echo says :

    Sounds like a great series to me! Can’t wait!

  2. Jackie Crawford says :

    You should check out a book called “One American Woman Fifty Italian Men” by Lynne Ashdown, http://lynneashdown.com/. It’s about women and cycling and I think you’d really like it! My best friend recommended the book to me a few months ago, so I picked it up; and I could hardly put it down! It’s inspired me to try and take up cycling too. Great post and it sounds like a great series to me too!

Leave a Reply

