US Cycling License Brings Discounts


In preparation for the upcoming cyclocross season, I went all in and bought a US Cycling license.  No more 1 Day license!  I’m official.

But not as official as I’d like.  I am a woman without a club.  I raced under the “Hammer Nutrition” club last year, and I have a kit to reflect that.  It’s old though, 3 or 4 years old now.  I bought a skin suit (long-sleeves, for winter) under the same club, but since Hammer sells a product that I also sell (coffee) it’s a clear conflict of interest.

Ideally, I will launch my own kit/club tied to my business.  I’ve already been approached by another racer who wants to brand her graphic design business with my coffee business to form our club for Cat 4 women over 40 racing bikes.  Don’t laugh, there are a lot of us out there.  We’re as judgement free as they come.  We think there is a good market for us.

But as a backup, I have discovered that with my new license comes benefits.  Primal Wear gives member s a 10% discount.  They have some pretty sporty kits, so I bought one that was already on sale.  With the discount, it brought the price down to halfway reasonable.  With the price of cycling clothing these days, I’ll take it.

There are a bunch of other discounts too.  Definitely making me feel better about shelling out the 60 bucks for an annual license.  That and no more 1 day licenses for $10 a pop.  A decent investment for sure.

-Karen

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

