The Rapha Women’s 100km


The Rapha Women’s 100 was held today, an International celebration of women on bikes.  On July 7, 2013 women worldwide celebrated by riding 100km.  The Facebook page is hereScreen Shot 2013-07-07 at 8.39.59 PM.

“The Rapha Women’s 100 is not a competition to see who is the fastest, it is about gathering a global community of women around the world to take part in this shared adventure.”

There was a wonderful organized ride in Amherst, MA held today.  I was invited to go by my friend Gail, and it was a great opportunity to ride with group of local women.  A BBQ was planned afterwards, and the entire ride was preplanned, and supported with SAG vehicles and water stops by the husbands of several women riding (not that I’m an expert on husbands but seriously, these men are dolls for doing this).

I couldn’t go.  I couldn’t get 5 or 6 hours or childcare for my extremely energetic 8-year-old son.  I guessed approximately 4 hours riding with stops, plus the necessary set up/break down and talking before and after. That comes out to about 6 hours by my social calculator.

Bummed as I am for not being able to participate  I did sneak out for an hour (and hour is a lot easier to get a friend to watch the offspring than 6 hours).  My riding time has gone way down between the new job and the rain and now the extreme heat.  I’m getting a bit cagey, and 60 miles (or 100km) today would have been great, even in these crazy temperatures of 90 degrees with dew points of 70+.  I do regret not being able to connect with some new local women.  It’s so hard to find women to ride with, and I know if I did, my riding would improve.  I have a few friends and contacts to call for a ride, but honestly, I am now squeezing in every minute of effort into miles….I have no extra time and every time I get on my bike, it’s squeezed between one commitment or another.

I’m back to my old mantra of “Something is better than nothing.”  But at least it’s something.

-Karen

Tags: ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

5 responses to “The Rapha Women’s 100km”

  1. zengarden2011 says :

    it all counts. sorry to see you had to miss what looked like a cool event. sounds like there needs to be another (maybe less dramatic) ride planned for August.

    • Karen says :

      I need a few sizable rides before autumn to feel like I’m still on top of my game. Time is a thief! I’d actually like to do a century, it’s on the list of things to do, and in all these years I still haven’t. I feel capable, just lack time, and all my cycling friends live scattered across the country, so it would likely be solo.

  2. Laura says :

    I was going to try to sneak in a 100k yesterday but after a day at the beach I was wiped. Then the heat started early so that dashed my plans completely. It didn’t start feeling nice until I was grilling dinner (and the temp had dropped to about 86*) so i took a very short walk with my sister after chowing down on a homemade cookie-ice cream sandwich my mom made me.

    I did enough crazy heat exercising on Friday thank you very much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

