Early morning rides


I’m not a morning person, but in order to maintain continuity in my fitness, I’ve started getting up early to ride.  I wake between 5 or 6am, sneak in an hour or so, shower, dress, and then drive 45 minutes to work.  I’ve been about to eek out some mileage by doing this.  I’ve also avoided the wave of afternoon thunderstorms that have been plaguing the Northeast for the past 3 weeks.  It’s so hot, humid, and wet here, there are few opportunities to ride without overheating or getting doused.

The early morning rides are nice.  Few cars.  The sun rising.  A hint of coolness still in the air.  Animals. It’s a very beautiful, peaceful way to wake up. Until last week, when as I was cresting a hill just two towns away at about 6:30AM, when I head this ringing pop from my front wheel.  The bike immediately slowed.  I pulled over and discovered one of my spokes dangling helplessly from the rim.

IMG_1883

So what happens when you bust a spoke is your wheel warps.  This makes the wheel impossible to spin.  I was only 6 miles from home but on a truck route with no sidewalks, and as I mentioned, it was 6:30AM. I called my girlfriend who did not answer.  I started to walk home with the front wheel lifted parallel to the ground.  I was traipsing across front lawns, my cleats sinking into the wet, soft earth. At the rate I was going, I wasn’t getting home for another 1.5 hours which would certainly make me late for my new job, which is a 45 minute commute one way.  It was a “save thyself” situation.  I stopped on a front lawn and removed the errant spoke entirely.  Then I was able to bully the wheel just straight enough to roll through the brakes, which I had opened wide.  I wouldn’t have front brakes.  And my wheel was still pretty warped, but it would roll.  So I would roll with it.

I gingerly rolled home, slow but a heck of a lot faster than walking would have been.  I made it to work on time and still got my workout for the day.

-Karen

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

