Waiting for Spring


I haven’t posted much here, because I’m struggling with winter (as I always do) and I’m trying not to be a party-pooper.

I have been riding, albeit not as frequently due to some major storms.  I visit my trainer a couple of times a week, I have been running a bit, and when I can, I ride outside.  It’s not as much as I’d like but I’m keeping up with fitness. I have even started doing Yoga.  Rides haven’t been remarkable so there’s little to write about.  It’s just about surviving until spring.

 

Just south of me in Pennsylvania, my friend Laura did a century last weekend.  It got me thinking because despite how long I’ve been riding and some of the accomplishments I’ve had on the bike, I have yet to complete a century ride.  I don’t care if I do this as a formal event or just on my own, but Laura and I are kicking around doing one together.  Logistics would need to be worked out but its a fine idea.

I also signed up for the Warrior Dash in Barre, MA for June 29th.  There’s a couple of folks from high school doing this as well and it would be good to meetup with them outside of Facebook.  This year is my 25th High School Reunion and it’s a hell of a way to celebrate.  I’m looking forward to it.

I still haven’t formalized all my goals for the year, but I aim to compete in a minimum of 10 CX races this year.  I also am saving for a new ‘cross bike, preferable carbon fiber, fast and light.  I’m trying to incorporate a bit more structure into my rides to actually increase my performance (speed), although I admit this is hard.  I refuse to let riding become un-fun.  This is not to say I will avoid an ass kicking ride, but more that riding always needs to reward and not become a tedious  have-to-do chore.  I’ve done that before while training for longer rides, and don’t wish to repeat.

Fun, faster, fitter, fresher.  Improving is fun.  Riding is fun.  Exploring is fun.  I anxiously await warmer temperatures and friendlier weather to  see where 2013’s bike rides will take me.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

9 responses to “Waiting for Spring”

  1. Laura says :

    I’m excited too!

  2. runcolbyrun says :

    I’m waiting for spring too. And it’s killing me. Living in New England training for a spring marathon? Just plain dumb. Come onnnnnnn Spring!

  3. runcolbyrun says :

    I’m waiting for spring too. And it’s killing me. Living in New England training for a spring marathon? Just plain dumb. Come onnnnnnn Spring!

  4. Aileen says :

    This winter is hard for my Californian skin. I’ve been here since last September and have seen my bike collect more dust than it’s ever had. Will it get warm again?

    • Karen says :

      Yes! Promise! I have been riding but can’t do it in anything under 35 degrees. I’ll run on days like today. If you dress for it, the riding isn’t bad in the 40s or 50s. I think the 50’s right now would feel glorious…but old man winter dies hard!

      • Aileen says :

        Ok. That gives me hope. I found this blog through the #clickthruthurs twitter campaign. Are you still looking for people to ride with?

  5. Karen says :

    Always! Where are you located? You can DM me at twitter @sipclipandgo details if you wish. I very seldom have the opportunity to ride with others….let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

