Post Script: So I wasn’t a DNF


This is a good news/bad news post.

One of my twitter friends checked on cross results and discovered that I was not, in fact, a DNF! This is great news of course, but the downside is that the listing showed me as second from last instead of 4th from last.

How could this happen? I think I might know.

As per instruction, we were told that if we heard “You are done!” when we crossed the line, that meant we were done–stop racing! I had completed my 5th lap and was taking on Number 6 when I heard a woman yell “You are done!” There were also on group of 5-6 people, some on bikes, some not, standing in the middle of the course, drinking coffee. Not normal course conditions. So I figured–ok, that’s it, it is over.

The only explanation I have for the two women I had passed placing higher than me was that they kept going, around the crowd drinking coffee, and I wasn’t supposed to stop when I did. And If that’s the case, I’m really sorry to the woman who came in right after me–because we were both high fiving each other for not being last.  We waited for results together, and we didn’t see out names, or the names of the other 2 women on the list.  I asked one of the race organizers about it and he said we must have been pulled after the lapping and we got DNFs.  So there was some confusion there.  This was the first time this race has been held too, so maybe some bugs to work out.

We get touchy about these things, don’t we? Even though we say it’s all for fun–and it is at lot of fun……we still have our pride. We still want a good showing. I know I put the effort out and I feel good about that.  I’m happy I at least have a place now…..there’s only one direction to go in, and that is UP.

-Karen

Tags: , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

5 responses to “Post Script: So I wasn’t a DNF”

  1. Donna Lynn says :

    Well, well, well….I think the news is good. To my mind it is a more pure beginning to your new passion. You did finish and you would have probably finished in a better spot if not for the snafu. Upward and onward!

  2. bgddyjim says :

    Pride is BS. You got to race dude, that’s cool all by itself. Hats off to you.

Leave a Reply

