Not as much as I thought


Last week I had a rare amount of time to myself. My ex had my son for a week of vacation, and while I had to work, I wasn’t tethered to home like I normally am. I decided to take the opportunity to set a goal of 100 miles.

This seemed a pretty reasonable goal, yet I fell short. Significantly short–by about 37 miles. I’m surprised, and disappointed. But mostly surprised. I have felt as though I’m on the bike a lot over the last few weeks. But a couple of things are dragging the mileage down:
1.) Mountain biking. I can spend an hour in the woods and travel half the distance that I do on the road. Sometime less than half.
2.) Mechanical issues. I have had the worst luck with flats this year. Thank god for my cross bike. If I didn’t have it, I would be riding at all. That said, it’s heavier and the tires aren’t as sleek as the road bike. I average about 1.5 mph slower on the cross bike. Not a huge difference, but it adds up.
3.) Choices, choices. I have to own this. I ride a lot in my lunch break, which only give me 40-60 minutes to ride. I didn’t ride after work when there were no restriction on my schedule. I still employ other forms of exercise other than cycling. So I’m active 5/6 days a week, but only 3 or 4 of those are bike rides. And the rides are just aren’t long enough to add up.

So–I’m back to the original desire: ride more, ride longer. I need some 3 hr stretches for 50 milers. This is a choice that will require a bit more commitment.

-Karen

20120630-005114.jpg

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

