Zippy Tire Replacement


Practice really does make perfect.

It was not long ago I would take my entire bike into the LBS for a new tube.  It’s a little embarrassing to admit, especially for someone like me who is an adamant do-it-yourselfer.  Lay tile?  Sure!  Frame out a closets?  Never have but hand me that 2X4.  Drywall a room?  Absolutely.  Change a bike tire?  Um….well, let’s have the professionals do that.  It made no sense, and was inconvenient and unnecessarily expensive.  So it was high time to learn, and now that I have, I’ve had several chances to use these new-found skills.

A few too many chances.  Last week when my tire blew out, I was still grateful that I had another bike ready to go with inflated, puncture free (for the moment) tires ready to ride so I didn’t lose my opportunity to workout.  But the way things are going this season, it’s unlikely they will stay that way.  When I finally set out to replace my tube & tire–I approached it with the same reluctance I had so many times before.  I cleared my schedule–this was going to be a while.

Flatter than a pancake after my blow out last week.

But I was done in 10 minutes.  Boom, like that.  Done in a flash.  I think I’m even learning a system. I’m pretty psyched about this because I’m happy to save the time and money–but I like feeling competent and independent about doing some of my own repairs.  And really, after riding as long as I have, it’s about time.

-Karen

Tags: , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Zippy Tire Replacement”

  1. walktrotcycle says :

    Congrats! My first time took a lot longer than 10 minutes, but after you do it once it’s a cinch 🙂

Leave a Reply

