A little faster this time


I posted before about my poor performance in terms of bike maintenance. I had replaced my front tire and it took…..well, it took a really long time to get that tire on.

So wouldn’t you know it, the tube went about 12 hrs after installing it. It was my own fault, I had tubes lying all around and I knew one was bad. I must have gotten them mixed up because by morning my tire was flat.

This time the change went much faster. Not fast, but faster. It only took me about 15 minutes to change the tube out–a huge improvement.

As I do this more, I’m sure it will become old hat. Anyway, it’s saving me lots at the bike shop.

-Karen

20120604-232534.jpg

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

7 responses to “A little faster this time”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    15 minutes is average. The more you do it and the more you know what to expect, the better you’ll get. Next time you line up the “Cont” logo with the presta stem – smack dab in the middle. Trust me, when the “guys in the group” see that, they’ll be all, she knows what’s up…

    • Karen says :

      haha! thanks for the tip Jim! I’ll be sure to do that next time 😉

      • bgddyjim says :

        You bet – the only reason I noticed it was because I had to redo mine so many times to get everything right.

        The tire logo is lined up with the stem so you can immediately target where the stem is at in the event of an on-road flat by the way. 🙂

  2. bgddyjim says :

    By the way, I forgot, nice work picking up the pace.

  3. All Seasons Cyclist says :

    You need to come ride in the Chicago suburbs — there is so much broken glass on the roads that you will become an expert at tire repair in no time! We have one of the “Rails to Trails” paths near my house and the local riders all call it “The Glass Highway.”

    • Karen says :

      Well–the bike path I ride on (only with knobbys) was paved with ACTUAL GLASS IN THE ASPHALT. They wanted to “recycle” the glass and while the trail sparkles with a combo of blacktop and actual glass–over the years the asphalt has receded and the glass has not, producing several tire punctures. At least yours can be swept away! A good example of the best of intentions gone wrong.

Leave a Reply

