Early Bird


I am not a morning person.  At all.  Nor do I do well in the heat.  Anything over 80 is pushing it for me, and throw in some humidity and forget it.  I’m non functional.

It’s been unseasonably hot this spring, and weather professionals are predicting a blazing hot summer. It hit 93 today, and it’s still May. The last few days have been disgusting in terms of heat & humidity, but I do NOT want to lose this new-found momentum with workouts.  So this morning, I set my alarm early and worked out in the morning.

Again–this is not my natural state.  But worth a try.  So I went out on the mountain bike for a 40 minute ride this morning.  I did a familiar loop from South Hadley into Granby and back.  It was better than I expected.  I rode aside hay fields with the sun rising to meet me.  I rode on the dirt shoulders where I could to increase the resistance on my tires. Traffic was heavier than I would have liked–but that was the only drawback. Best of all, it was only in the low 60’s–more than tolerable conditions.

So tomorrow I work from home, which automatically adds another hour to my free time since I don’t have to commute.  Providing the evening thunderstorms clear by morning, I plan to strike our early again, and hopefully remain in temperatures below 75 degrees, and get a good 90 minutes++ on the bike before starting my workday. And the coffee tastes even better after a workout.

-Karen

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Early Bird”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    The coffee does taste better – no doubt about it. Good luck.

    Becoming a morning person is easier than dabbling in it now and then. I’ve been waking up at 4-4:30 for close to 15 years now and it’s normal now – and waking up that early makes weekend afternoon naps feel that much better. 😀

Leave a Reply

