Bike Maintenance, Sorta.


Disclaimer: This post is a bit rambling.  Sorry about that.  I have a few things floating in the head tonight.

Last year I bought myself a cyclocross bike.  I had been wanting one for years, so finally I added it to the collection.  I barely rode it in 2011, and in 2012 I’ve been making up for it.  All my road rides have been on the ‘cross bike.  It’s heavier and the tires aren’t skins but not knobby either–they provide a bit more friction to the road.

I wanted it that way too–I wanted to be working harder in these early months.  The road bike needed some love anyway–new tubes & tires.  Tonight I finally gave it the attention it needed in prep for the hot summer ahead.

I am, without a doubt, the slowest person on earth to change a bicycle tube and or tire.  Molasses slow.  I’m just really inept.  OK–so I’ve only done a tube/tire change twice before.  It’s not exactly routine to me yet–but it should take less than an hour, right?  All I can say is I’m glad it didn’t take two.  Anyway–it’s done.  The Continentals look great–like a brand new pair of sneakers on the playground that can run faster than all the other kids’.

I spent some time cleaning up the road bike too–my Specialized Dolce Elite.  I bought this bike 6 years ago when I was going through my divorce.  I labored over the decision because when the leaving happened, I was left without a road bike.  I wasn’t exactly in a position to spend a lot of money and in terms of bicycles it wasn’t “a lot” of money–only $1200.  But at the time, it was a huge expenditure considering the financial effects of divorce.  Anyway, a Buddhist friend of mine convinced me to go ahead and splurge and it was the best decision I could have made.  Riding helped me cope with the divorce among other things–it was something I could count on to make me feel better.  The old girl still looks great and I thought about that when I polished her up, nicks, scratches and all.

I’m looking forward to my first ride on the road bike and the new tires.  While I’ve been really enjoying the ‘cross bike, I lifted both up to test the weight and wow–what a difference.  I have a feeling the road bike is going to feel pretty light, which will make those hills out here in western Mass a little smaller.

-Karen

Tags:

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Bike Maintenance, Sorta.”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Yes, an hour is a LONG time to change a tire (and wash the bike, degrease the chain, wax the bike…).

    That’s a ten to fifteen minute deal. But if you’re enjoying taking your time, it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

