The Solution to my Ah-hah


I’ve always loved data.  I eat it up, consume it, use it, and try to influence it.  So with this in mind, and my $13 pedometer, I am going to change one simple thing.

Somehow, I need to replace those 10,000 steps.  I have to get to that threshold.  THEN, I will workout.  I cannot using running or biking as a substitute, because clearly that does not work. Step Threshold 1, Workout 2, Diet 3.

This is the plan. And it will be hard, because to get that 1707 steps, I walked around my little office more than usual over the course of an entire day–which in itself sends a shudder up my spine.  I took an extra walk to the outdoor mailbox.  I stood up more often.  And with that,  I still couldn’t break 2000 steps. 

If When I start consistently pulling 10000 steps, my runs and bike rides will start making an impact, I’m sure of it.  According to my doctor, my cholesterol counts are spectacular–in a good way.  And physically, my endurance is really great–I’m strong and capable.  But performance wise–I’m slow.  Not that I’ve ever been terribly fast, but 8 extra lbs will bog anyone down.  If When I shed those lbs I might actually get faster.  Not that I’m looking at winning any races but everyone likes to be better, right?  Not to mention summer’s almost here. I have a cycling kit to squeeze into.

-Karen

Tags: , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “The Solution to my Ah-hah”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Karen,
    I feel your pain, I’ve had a desk job for the last 15 years or so and I ran into trouble as well, switching from an “on my feet job” in construction to the office, though most of my problem revolved around quitting cigarettes… I managed my weight for most of those by running 2-3 times a week and watching my portion sizes. I ran slow, 8:30-9:30/mile pace. I stayed at around 170 (I’m 6’0″)… Since I started riding last year though, I’ve dropped to 153 and I’m actually at a point where I have to looking at artificial ways to keep my weight up (protein powders, etc.). There are obviously a lot of factors at play, but two key factors relate here: I didn’t wait to drop weight to get fast, and I ride six-seven days a week in addition to running (16 miles minimum – takes 48-50 minutes, with 2-3 big days on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday – 30 miles minimum 38 max – no more than 2 hours). I got fast riding first, running followed, but I’m down to the low 7 minute miles running and I’m up to 20 mph average except on recovery rides (1-2 a week) where I’ll average 17.5-18.5. Getting there took time and a whole lot of effort, but I have the metabolism of a race horse because of it. I wrote a post a while back about how I did it but scrapped it due to my feeling it lacked relevance – I’ll dust if off, polish it up and post it in the next couple of days – just for you.

    The trick here is, the faster you move, the more friction you create to maintain that motion, the more calories you burn to maintain the speed. There’s a study out there that shows if you walk faster than a 10 minute mile, it’s just as good as running a 9 minute mile, only because it creates so much friction to walk that fast. It’s something to contemplate anyway.

    Good luck in all that you do.

Leave a Reply

