An Ah-Hah


I’m not a stupid person.  I swear, I’m not.  I had suspected that when I made the shift from my stand on your feet all day and walk around retail job to a stare at a computer all day and sit job there would be a health consequence or two.  But really–I had no idea.

Today I wore a pedometer to work.  I did this for a week during the holiday season in my previous job.  I recorded a record 27,000 steps one day.  Other days were about 20,000-25,000 steps.  That’s 10-15 miles folks.  Yes, I did 10 hours of walking, with no lunch breaks.  Yes, my feet hurt.  Yes, I was 8 lbs lighter.

A normal workday at the last job was right around where I was supposed to be–10,000 steps.  5 Miles.  This is the recommended about of walking each of us should do during the course of a day.  No problems maintaining a healthy weight, even though with the hectic schedule–I could only work out 1-3 times per week.  4 times was rare, and lucky.

Now, a drumroll please–I’m closing in on my 1 year anniversary with my new position and I’ve gained 8 lbs, despite working out 4-5 times a week very consistently.  Sometimes 6 times a week.  And do you know why?

1707 steps.

Point made.  That is all.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

