Rockbuster Duathlon: 1 week & counting


Yup, just a week away is the first event of the year–for me anyway.  I am woefully unprepared for it.  But this hasn’t been from lack of trying.  I had a strong off season of running, with a bit of biking for good measure.  Then things went awry.  Ironically, I think it was just as I was about to break through to that elusive “next level” when my body just started to unravel.

I’ve had a solid break from running and a lot of PT, I’m starting to run again–a couple of times a week, and I’m riding more.  But I’m not running as fast and I have this sense that things are a click or two shy from really coming together.

I am not worried about being able to to do Rockbuster, I am completely capable.  But I’m not going to be breaking any records next weekend. After such a mild winter and a strong off-season, I can’t say I’m not disappointed in this.  But hey, this a fun thing.  I’m keeping some perspective on these things finally.

My little brother has signed on for the event again.  I’m about 85% sure he’ll show for it.  I hope he does because it will make getting up that early in the morning and driving 90 minutes a little more worth it.  Ironically, the drive–(one way)–will be longer than the event itself.  C’est la vie.  I’m looking forward to my first event of the year.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

