Looking for Momentum


My planned dry run last weekend did not happen.  Co-blogger Heather & I met up in a town neither of us live in to ride late Friday afternoon.  Under my direction, we become quite lost somewhere in Southampton, MA.  We found a woman out for her after-dinner walk who gave us directions home, and we made it back just as it was really getting dark.

To reward ourselves for the chilly adventure, we ate too much take-out bar food and I consumed a whooping 1 and 1/2 bottle of hard cider.  I am not much of a drinker– and that was backed up by my body ungracefully rejecting the alcohol and bad bar food approximately 8 hours later.  4AM isn’t fun on it’s own, but this experience made it even less friendly.  I bagged my planned ride for Saturday.

Easter was the next day, which involved a road trip to the hometown and lots of family time.  No significant workout that day either.

I’ve run twice this week so far.  I had to force myself both times.  I can feel myself slipping away and it’s no good, no good at all.  I have my duathlon in 1 1/2 weeks and I have a lot of base, yes–but I am no where near in the form I’d like to be.

Sigh.

It’s not a matter of body, but mind.  I need that focus again.  I know it’s just a matter of pushing through this dip in motivation, but if I don’t keep pushing I’ll skid out and stall, and I do not want that heading into the heart of spring.

I have a big ride planned Saturday, and will ride tomorrow and run again Friday.  Hopefully after this weekend, I’ll get it back.

-Karen

Tags: ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Looking for Momentum”

  1. jamesonblake says :

    Keep riding! Don’t forget how much you love it. That’s how I do it I think of the sun and the wind and I am totally out on my bike in 2 minutes.

  2. bgddyjim says :

    Karen,

    A lot of us are going through this right now, myself included. I’m going out on a limb here, but I’m blaming a lot on the weather – we had 80’s and sun, now it’s cloudy and 45 – it’s hard not to be bummed about that, and get bundled up after pulling out the short sleeves…

    You’ll get back soon enough. I just had a really nice ride yesterday – one where I really felt better – and I’m looking to build on that this afternoon.

    Head high tiger.

Leave a Reply

