This is test, this is only a test


Tomorrow I have a practice run scheduled for myself to prep for the Rockbuster Duathlon in Ashland.  The event is in just 2 weeks, and I try to re-create the event prior to doing it.  I’m not expecting any surprises since it’s the same exact course as the Mud, Sweat and Gears event I do each fall put on by the same organization, FIRM Racing.  Still, I include this as part of a ritual–for both physical and mental reasons.

My simulation is almost exactly the same length and extremely similar in terms of difficulty.  The event is extremely beginner friendly and is more a participatory or fun event than anything extreme.  But when in the middle of things, one wants a good outcome, even if there is no expectation or even an ambitious plan to win.  Fun is the goal.  A respectable showing helps the pride.

Hence the prepping.  It’s an excellent mental exercise more than anything.  It puts your head into the correct frame of mind to anticipate changes, make adjustments, and for me–lessen my anxiety about doing these events.  While there is really nothing to get worked up about–I am the type of person who will get worked up anyway.  This helps me lessen that outcome.  So does blogging, which is why you are even reading about this.

It also gives me a chance to monitor my speed under similar conditions, since I can’t seem to do this during a race.  I’m way too distracted by the event itself to remember to check my speed.  It’s all by feel at that point.  So being attuned to how fast I feel and my actual speed is a help.  I’ll have a chance to have a fresh version of that feeling tomorrow.

Tomorrow’s test run will be in the AM, take about 90 mins, and will be under sunny skies with temps in the lower 40’s.  Perfect weather for a good game of pretend.

-Karen

Tags: , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “This is test, this is only a test”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    I couldn’t agree more, I do the exact same thing. Last year was the first time I’ve ever run the Crim 10 mile without actually running 10 miles every Saturday for the month beforehand (I figured with all of the Tri training I’d do alright – I did).

Leave a Reply

