Bad knee, no biscuit


Well it’s official. I have Patello-femoral Syndrome, or Runner’s Knee. My knee cap is not tracking over my femur correctly, meaning that quite literally, I have gone off the rails.

20120328-190411.jpg

All dressed up and nowhere to go.

My physical therapist is using this strategy of taping my knee to stretch the appropriate muscles. Another way to do this involves a surgeon and cutting the muscles free. That might be one way to loosen them up but I’ll try the non-invasive tape first, thank you very much.

So I’m all taped up and my plans for running sidelined for today and tomorrow. I took the weekend off after an intense week, ran Monday, and skipped Tuesday expecting to get runs in today and tomorrow. So this is really throwing me off my schedule. Moreover, I have the Rockbuster Duathlon in just 25 days.

I think I’ll tell the Physical Therpist about that after the race.

-Karen

Tags: , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

4 responses to “Bad knee, no biscuit”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Get well soon

  2. bgddyjim says :

    I find myself in an interesting position. I “like” a post to let the author know that “I was here, and read your post and am picking up what you’re laying down”.

    Common taste and decency forbids one from hitting the “like” button here.

    To that end, I’ve read your post, and wish you a quick and full recovery.

Leave a Reply

