On Track


I have been riding more than I have been blogging, which is how it should be. The weather has been freakishly warm, with temps soaring into the 80’s. As a result, I’ve been riding 3-4 times a week. I’ve been riding exclusively on the cross bike. I’m doing this to 1) finally start riding the thing 2) to put a little more resistance between the bike and the road, making me work harder.

In just 2 weeks my MPH has jumped back to where it should be. And it’s only March. This is encouraging because I’m starting to think I might be able to achieve the kind of fitness that I last achieved 4 years ago.

I can tell my overall fitness and endurance is quite good, perhaps better than ever–but the real issue is I’m carrying more weight, and I don’t like it. I blame my recent desk job for some of this, but to be fair, I was eating pretty badly for a while.

I’m feeling strong and fit, and the weight is starting to come off. But–slowly. Slow and steady wins the race, and I’d be satisfied with another 7lb loss to add to the 3 I’ve already parted with. This would put me back in top form, aesthetically speaking, not to mention performance and fitness.

But let’s face it, I really just want those jeans to fit again.

-Karen

20120321-200049.jpg

Tags: ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “On Track”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    I can’t believe this weather… It won’t last forever but I’m going to take advantage while I can.

    As far as weight goes, I feel your pain – I’ve had a desk job for 15 years and I’ve always had 5 or 10 to loose going into spring until this year where I finally figured out how to keep a decent winter schedule. I wish you all the best in getting to where you want. You can do it.

Leave a Reply

