New wheels for my new wheels


I recently bought a new vehicle–well, new to me. One thing that was essential in selecting a new vehicle was bike transport. I have enjoyed the convenience of a pick up truck for many years, and a Thule bike rack mounted in the bed. Hauling bikes was a breeze. I didn’t want to give that up.

However, pick up trucks are NOT conducive for family travel. It was essentially a two seater. So a change was needed.

After several model reviews and lots of test drives, I finally settled on a car that is not longer being made: the Honda Element. 2011 was the last year they made the Element, so acquiring one proved difficult. I had to travel out of state for my Element – not too far, just south to Connecticut.

I could not be happier with my choice. I got a great deal and I love the unusual look. Plus, the functionality is perfect for a practical gal like me. I now have 4 seats, but if traveling with bikes and fewer passengers, I can fold up or even remove the seats completely. I don’t even need to remove the front wheel of the bike.

I’m pretty psyched about how this is working out. Everyday chores like grocery shopping are loads easier, but I can still cart the bikes anywhere I feel like rambling.

20120312-211844.jpg

See how cozy it is? It even has little hooks for my bike helmet. No more rust fears for extensive travel in weather either. Love it!

–Karen

Tags: , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “New wheels for my new wheels”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Great post. I hope you enjoy that Honda. I’ve got a Ford Escape (I need the 4×4 for getting to hunting camp), the mini SUV’s are excellent for sporty folks.

Leave a Reply

