A bio mechanical mess


Today I went to a podiatrist. It was prompted by a bright pain on the tip of my right knee and behind the same knee. The almighty Internet indicated runners knee, and the remedy orthotics.

The visit was enlightening. First off, I love talking to doctors who are genuinely passionate about what they do. This guy was so excited about my diagnosis, I actually felt psyched about it. Not that what is wrong with me is particularly special or exciting, but I digress.

So here’s my deal; my left leg is longer than my right, AND the design of my foot is, and I quote “one of the most destructive.” Awesome. My gait is called “runway model” because when I walk I strike on the outside of my foot and then pivot inward. Who knew I was that girlie?

So I’m getting some specific running shoes, some more PT, and soon–orthotics. That will wait a little bit since they are $450 a pop. But as I said to my doctor, I figure I only have 10-15 more years of moderate physical activity left in me. I am going to need to take care of myself if I’m going to get that much milage out of my body. The better job I do, the longer I will go, perhaps pushing my fitness into my 60’s. Now that would be something.

-Karen

20120305-230710.jpg

Tags: , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “A bio mechanical mess”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Wow, that almost borders on unfair. I really hope you get all of that figured out. Your attitude about it is awesome.

Leave a Reply

