Good Start to 2012


I got a mountain bike ride in to kick off the new year–it was nothing crazy–a gentle spin in Nonotuck Park.  For January in New England, it was bright and sunny and a toasty 47 degrees.  I was the only mountain biker out there–dodging dog walkers and people striking out with their New Year’s Resolutions to be more active (I was in good company).

We’ve had a bit of rain the last few days and the trail was a perfect soft  & crunchy mud.  The roots were extra slick and I took it pretty easy. I have been running a lot lately, and I’ve developed a few injuries related to the extra running. I have pain in the ball of my left foot that seems to point to metatarsalgia. I have pain at the back of my right knee which presents itself when I extend the leg in a very straight manner.  And on my last run, I started to have pain along my left shin–not shin splints either…I have tons of experience with that and this felt sharper and more painful than shin splints.  So getting back on the bike seemed a good idea to give the joints a little break.

In other news I actually spun on the trainer the other night.  And I’m not bitching about it, either.  Dare I miss, I might have missed the trainer?

Yeah, I’m sure I’ll regret saying that.

So I’m pushing into 2012 with more momentum than ever before in terms of workouts and fitness.  That’s the good new.  The bad news is I’ve put on 7 pounds with my new job.  7 months.  7 pounds.  Gah.

I sit all day at this job.  I’m online all day.  I’m writing, researching, communicating, and learning a TON.  That’s all really great, but I have acquired the 7 lbs, and the sitting has resulted in some back pain and a pinched nerve as well.  Geez this post sounds like I’m complaining a lot….but here it is people, sitting is really bad for you!  I had no idea how bad!  I’m sorry if I was unsympathetic to all my friends with desk jobs.  Now I know better.  The job is great.  The sitting is bad.  I have the name of a massage therapist to free the trapped nerve.  I miss the trainer because I miss being active.  Sad but true.

Additionally, to deal with the extra love around the waistline, I’ve registered at My Fitness Pal.  This is a FREE version of weight watchers.  It’s a very handy tool to log your meals and workouts and offers a social component to keep you motivated if you need it.  You check in on your weight every week just like WW, with no monthly fee–no fee at all.  It’s pretty cool, and just what I need to keep me on track.

-Karen

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

