2011 Wrap Up


It’s hard to believe we’re almost to the end of another year.  This has truly been a transformative year for me personally.  I have changed careers leaving behind a job I had for 14 years.  This change has allowed for other areas of my life to finally balance out.

Last year I rode my mountain bike–a lot.  I started running more than ever, and participated in two 5Ks for charity, plus participated in the off-road duathlon Mud, Sweat and Gears.  I skipped LIVESTRONG this year, and while I didn’t miss the trip down and back to Philadelphia, part of me missed the sheer difficulty of that event.

I bought a cyclocross bike.  This should be a highlight, but I’ve barely touched it, and am thinking I could have taken a second vacation with the money I spent.  But I have many more seasons in me yet–and while I do not plan to race the ‘cross bike, I’d like to finally do some of the gravel roads north of here in Franklin county and southern Vermont.

Things I missed about this last year were long road rides–I think my longest was 30 miles, which is really not long at all.  I’d like to get back to doing 40-60 mile rides with more regularity.

So in the spirit of the coming 2012 (you’ve surely heard this is happening), I think a bucket list is in order.

  1. Rockbuster Duathlon April 22, 2012
  2. Derrill’s Race Early May 2012
  3. Warrior Dash June 9, 2012
  4. D2R2 Randonnee End of August, 2012
  5. Mud, Sweat, and Gears September 29, 2012

As always, this list is subject to change.  But if you know me, I’m a girl who likes to have a plan.  But one of my guiding mantras is best stated by General Eisenhower, who said “Plans mean nothing, planning is everything.”  That said I reserve the right to change my mind, add events, subtract events, or dabble in extra curricular sports.  If this is to be the last year on earth, let’s spin our way through it legs screaming, a little muddy, wearing a big grin.

Happy Christmas and Cheers to the New Year!

–Karen

Tags: , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

