Cross Training


It’s been quiet here at this blog for a while, but that doesn’t mean I’ve been slowing down any.  I made it to the Gloucester Gran Prix and had a blast taking loads of photos.  I got some really good ones too–JPow and Tim Johnson battling for first on day 2.  It’s all in the books now but with a light rain falling and muddy conditions, JPow took it after Tim led for almost the entire race.  I’ll post those soon.

The day before Gloucester, my brother & I did the Mud Sweat and Gears Duathlon in Ashland.  You can read about that here if you’re interested.

But in the last two months, I haven’t been on the bike much.  What I have been doing is a lot of running.  We had a freak snowstorm just before Halloween–a foot of snow–that brought down thousands of trees and millions of branches throughout this region–and we are still cleaning up. Power was out at my house for 4 days. Hiking is still prohibited locally due to the devastation.  The roads are clear (kind of–a month later and I’m still jogging around piles of branches stacked roadside), but running is easier than biking right now–easier and quicker.

So the bad news is I haven’t been biking much.  The good news is I’m running a bunch more and getting faster, and slowly going longer and further.  I entered a 5K for next weekend, the Hot Chocolate Run in Northampton.  If I can keep the running going as long as the weather allows, the more fitness I can preserve through the long winter months.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Cross Training”

  1. sweetopiagirl says :

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

