Photo: Mud, Sweat & Gears


I just got pics from the Mud, Sweat & Gears event.  Nuvision Photography provides photo services for these races, and they have a pretty cool philosophy regarding sports photography.  Check out their site for more info.  I’m pretty pleased with the result:

Downhill: Mud, Sweat & Gears 2011. Ashland, MA

I’ve spent some times analyzing my performance numbers as well.  Having results from 2009 gave me a good benchmark to work from.  My time was 1:02 slower this time.  Sure, we can blame it on the mud and loose sand, but I didn’t lose a minute to that.  My first run was 38 second faster than 2009.  My second run was 3 seconds faster. So the good news is I’m running faster.  Yay!  I hate running, so this was a marked improvement.  My strength, the bike–is where I lost 1:43!!!  If you read my last post, I noted my struggle early in the bike portion. I strongly considered abandoning. I have determined my electrolytes were out of whack due to some dehydration.  I was mostly worried about nutrition but I should have been focusing more on my Gatorade consumption.  I was really crawling at one point, and after I got some Gatorade in my system, I started moving again.  Next time I won’t make that mistake.

–Karen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Photo: Mud, Sweat & Gears”

  1. Nuvision Action Image says :

    Thanks for the kind words Karen! We’re happy to do something new, we’re as bored of the usual same shots as much as you probably are!

Leave a Reply

