Something to train for: Mud, Sweat, & Gears by FIRM


It’s fall, and I’m concluding my directionless season with a little direction: a race.

I’m going back to Ashland, MA for FIRM’s duathlon Mud, Sweat & Gears. This race is 1.8 mile trail run, 5.5 mile MTB, 1.8 mile trail run.  If you’ve read this blog for a while you may remember I last did this race in 2009.  I took 1st in my age/gender category, but overall–well it wasn’t a standout performance.  But I had a really good time, I gave it my all, and was proud of myself for taking on multisport for the first time at age 38.

Last weekend I went to Nonotuck Park in Easthampton to recreate the rigors of the event. I did just a little more distance of each leg.  I showed improvement in the running, which remains a weak area for me (and with 2/3 of the race being trail running, it’s something to focus on).  I wasn’t racing the dry run, it was more of a rushing of the course I chose to replicate Ashland.  Still, I liked how I did, and it surprised me.

If I can do as well as I did last weekend, I’ll be really happy.  I’m not in great shape, but in “good enough” shape.  I’m on an upswing.  My new job allows me tons of flexibility so I can work out during my workday unless I have an event to attend.  I have commuted a few times to work via bike, but logistically I find it difficult.  I started running at lunch–there is a bike trail across the street (ok, highway, but that’s the sprint portion), and I think running is a perfect midday workout for my work days.  My fitness level is definitely on the rise since settling into this job, and I’m excited about maintaining and elevating my fitness and endurance levels throughout the fall into the winter.

–Karen

PS–The above photo is NOT of Nonotuck Park.  At all.  Mt Tom overlooks Nonotuck. Those mountains in the photo are the Olympics in Washington State.   Call it dramatic licence 🙂  I just liked the picture.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

