What to do when you can’t ride your bike


21 inches of snow.  That’s what’s currently blanketing my community here in my quaint college town in  New England.  My trainer is set up in the basement, unused.  I can’t quite bring myself to commit to the logging mileage on the trainer.  It’s just too depressing.

I was able to plunge these upright into the snow piled in the bed of my truck.

Fortunately, I don’t dislike snow, and 21 inches of snow is good for little else but snow sports.  I dug out the Tubbs Snowshoes and decided to head out the door for a little trudge through the powder.

The road less traveled makes all the difference....

I parked up on Harris Hill on the Amherst/Granby line.  I train on Harris Hill with my bike–it’s a good little climb, and where it plateaus the famous Robert Frost Trail intersects the road.  I parked at the trailhead and trudged up the trail.  

One foot in front of the other.

I was grateful that someone had already broken the trail.  I’ve never hiked this part of the RFT and quickly learned it was an uphill venture.  Whoever trekked in knew the trail pretty well.  I followed the tracks before me, and noticed trail blazes on trees every quarter-mile or so.

The hike was silent and beautiful.  The sky was a violet hue of blue and the snow pure white, caked upon every possible surface.  The trail had a couple of steep portions that were interesting to negotiate on snowshoes, I think poles would have helped.  It was cold too–only about 20 degrees, but after about 5 minutes of walking I was shredding clothing to cool off. 

 According to LIVESTRONG.COM, snowshoeing burns 45% more calories than walking or running at the same pace.  By my estimation, I burned about 600 calories on my relatively short hike.  The great thing is that I didn’t feel that fatigued, and it was nice to stop every so often and take in the scenery.  All and all, an excellent way to make the most of the off-season weather.

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

