This is the problem.


image

So here it is, another year past and again I stand upon the scale looking down a wondering how those last five pounds snuck up on me.

Really Karen. This is no mystery.

All year I train and focus, I blog and tweet, I talk a good talk.  And then January comes and those five pounds slink their way back around my waist, like an unwanted arm on a bad date.

But this year it feels worse for some reason.   Last night I set up the trainer.  A necessary evil, indeed,  but the trainer does maintain a level of fitness in these snowy winter months.   Last year I felt a bit burnt out on cycling, and I blamed that on starting back too quickly after the holidays.  I had needed more of a break.  This year, I took it.  Four months off the bike. Four months!  

Last night I tried spinning.   Let me give you a blow by blow on how that went:
30 seconds in:  huh…this is kind of hard.
60 seconds in:  is there something wrong with the crankset?
Minute 20 in: oh my sweet lord,  it’s me!  I’ve lost this much fitness?  How?!?
The next 15 minutes:  noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!

I only lasted about 16 minutes before quitting.  Embarrassing, but there’s lots of time to improve upon that.

One part of my body that hasn’t stopped exercising is my big mouth, powered by a sweet tooth.  I took the above pile of Xmas stocking candy to work, where it was gone within an hour.  At least I didn’t eat it.  Well, any more of it, that is.

Here’s to resolutions.  What’s old is new again.   We should be good at this by now, shouldn’t we?

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

3 responses to “This is the problem.”

  1. Kat says :

    I feel your pain, sistah!

    I haven’t ridden my bike since a 20 mile ride on November 6th. I was just thinking yesterday (not for the first time) that I am not at all happy with the extra poundage I’ve put on. Definitely time for a change!

  2. Heather says :

    At least I have some good excuses; I’m on the DL. The Achilles tendon over the summer, and now the pulled muscle in the back. Ellen asked if I had a Fast Lane pass for the physical therapy office I go to.

    Does this mean I don’t have to make you the birthday brownies from October?

  3. Dana says :

    I know the feeling! I have a sweet tooth that won’t quit. And for me, it’s always chocolate! Add in all the chocolate deals between Halloween and Easter and I’m doomed in the off season!

Leave a Reply

