Field Test: Kennedy Park, Lenox, MA


image

I picked up some generic clipless pedals last January and a couple of weeks ago, I finally got around to getting some new mountain bike shoes.  I have been using speedplay frogs since I started out in the sport 10 years ago.  It was time for a change.

And change is good.  I bought a pair of 2011 Garneau Women’s Monte Rosa shoes, mostly because I liked the color scheme.  But they performed marvelously.   The clipless pedals,  some standard nashbar cheapies, worked well too.  They didn’t have as much float as the frogs but I could clip into them much better on the fly.

Kennedy Park was also more fun than I remember.   I rode there only once before, about 7 years ago, and my memory failed me.  I found rolling ridges lined in freshly fallen leaves of orange and yellow,  overlooking the modest Berkshire hills.  The trails were a combo of hard packed dirt with a few roots and rocks to make it interesting.

A nice ride through the park a few times, followed by leaf peeping the long way home to the Pioneer Valley made for a beautiful autumn Sunday.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

