LIVESTRONG Challenge 2010: The Report


image

image

Where to begin?

Maybe with the rain. 

I love riding my bike, and I will ride in all conditions.   And I’m not lying when I tell you I didn’t really mind the rain during the 70 miles through Berks County, PA.  The rain that started at about mile 30 and went hard, on and off, until mile 60, where of course the skies parted and the sun shined through.  The rain cooled me down, and I was grateful for that, despite its blinding quality. 

They closed the 100 mile course due to lightning,  although a few fast riders made it onto the course before that decision was made. Most of the century riders squeezed in with the 70 milers.

Lance was in attendance.  He told the waiting riders, “I’m asked all the time if I think this is a tough course.  And yeah, I think it is a tough course.”  Confirmation from the man himself. 

And it was. The hills were relentless. The rain made the descents very slick.  I saw one very bad accident,  and shortly after, an ambulance dispatched. 
But despite the driving rain, the slick roads, and the unforgiving hills, I had a good ride.  Why?  Well, of course I thought about my mom a lot. I thought about the folks who helped me reach my fundraising goals.  I found strength from the good people who came out of their homes, some in pajamas, mom and dad and all the kids standing in their front yards cheering riders as we rode past.  Some of them even had cowbells.

I made it back to the Livestrong Village by 1:30pm for lunch, sun shining to boot.

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “LIVESTRONG Challenge 2010: The Report”

  1. Leah says :

    Nice! What a great experience. Congrats for getting it done in adverse conditions.

  2. KJ says :

    Sounds like a great ride in spite of the weather. My Livestrong ride is coming up in October, hopefully we’ll have better weather than you did – but even if we don’t, I’m still going for it!

    It’s a great atmosphere to ride in, I can’t wait!

    Congrats on a job well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

