Why I’m Riding for LIVESTRONG: August 22, 2010


I’ve always been a strong supporter of LIVESTRONG and it’s mission to fight cancer.  Last year I took a break from fundraising and participating in the LIVESTRONG Challenge.  But recent events have renewed my passion for this cause.

Some of you know about my mom’s recent breast cancer diagnosis.  This was her second time with breast cancer, the first coming 14 years ago.  You’d think after 14 years the cancer would be beaten.  It was not.  It came back, in the same exact spot.

Fortunately, mom’s prognosis is good.  The cancer was stage 1, and the lymph nodes are clean.  She has already endured the mastectomy, and is now going through the reconstruction process.  However, pathology revealed two other tumors in the breast tissue, and different kinds of cancer.  This just further proves how insidious this disease is. 

I don’t know anyone in my life that hasn’t been affected by cancer, either personally, or watching a close friend or family member’s battle.  Cancer truly affects us all.  Currently there are 28 million people in this country fighting cancer.  My mom is one of them.

 

This August 22, 2010, I’m going to ride my bike 70 miles as a part of the LIVESTRONG Challenge. In addition to this, I’m hoping to raise $1000 for the fight against cancer. With your help and support, I know I can accomplish both.  I’ve established a personal website,  where you can learn more about my participation and contribute to the cause. Remember, every dollar counts. 

I’d like to thank you in advance for your donation.

Thanks and LIVESTRONG.

–Karen

PS–I’d like to thank Heather, my co-blogger here at Sip, Clip and Go! for contributing twice already to my fundrasing efforts, along with Leah from Because I Tri, along with various relatives and friends who have already contributed.  I’m grateful to all of you for your support to this worthwhile cause.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory Lance Armstrong Post | Sip, clip, and go! - January 21, 2013

Leave a Reply

