Riding the Spandex Highway


image

Today’s ride wasn’t typical. I brought my 5 year old to the local rail trail for some outdoor time. As we entered the trail, we were greeted by this sign painted on the trail (see above).

Kiddo has improved quite a bit since last year. At times he cranked it up to 6.5 mph. When I suggested it might be time to take the training wheels off, he literally shrieked in reply.

On the trail we saw two beaver dams and a small snake. I let him lead the way. Other than his sudden, unannounced skidding stops, which almost caused me to run him over, it was a nice little ride. I finally learned to keep a safe distance behind him, and took my time practicing bunny hops while he pedalled ahead.

Distance: 2.47 miles
Time: at least an hour
Ride category: quality time sharing what I love with who I love

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

